Marika Hackman - Covers

Marika Hackman - Covers

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.

Limited Edition Blue Vinyl

Marika Hackman returns with Covers, a darkly beautiful, self-produced new album which showcases a more vulnerable side.

During the extended lockdown period of the last few months, Marika felt that creating a covers record was a way of exploring new sound ideas and expressing herself without having the pressure of the blank page. She recorded and produced Covers between home and her parents' house, then got David Wrench to mix it.

In contrast to her last two albums (including 2017’s I’m Not Your Man), this collection of songs is more akin in tone and feel to her debut LP We Slept At Last, with a darker and more introspective sound. On Covers, we hear Marika’s emotive voice set against sparse arrangements of guitars and strings with the occasional synth or scattered drum groove.

A1 - You Never Wash Up After Yourself (Radiohead)

A2 - Phantom Limb (The Shins)

A3 - Playground Love (AIR)

A4 - Realiti (Grimes)

A5 Jupiter 4 (Sharon Van Etten)

B1 Pink Light (Muna)

B2 Between The Bars (Elliott Smith)

B3 Temporary Loan (Edith Frost)

B4 In Undertow (Alvvays)

B5 All Night (Beyoncé)